How shall I begin to forgive you?

Hola Fam! Here’s a collaboration between myself and Marvin! I know, I know! He’s back, yeah? ‘m glad too. We hope you like it 😍😘!

Me
And you came,
took a heart so perfect
in its own solenmess and alone-ness:
A heart so blue,
so cold,
so un-moved–
And you painted it bright,
And cast it in shine with a love so bold
it bled of red, and faith, and hope
Oh, how shall I begin to forgive you?
For you’ve started a fire,
And you’ve waged a war in my heart.
You had better be here to dance with the flame,
I hope you are ready to fight and slay.
For how shall I begin to forgive you
for taking something so perfect
Something so bland,
So numb,
And making it throb?

__

Marvin
And you came
And took a heart so perfect
So unused
So recluse
And inspired it with purpose
With a desire so frantic
The universe spurt in envy.
Oh, how could you?
How did you
Manage to take the blank of my heart
And make it into something
So beautiful
Colourful
So achingly full
Of you, your bold peace,
Your shy magic
And how shall I begin to forgive you
For un-doing my heart with such ruse?

**

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

6 thoughts on “How shall I begin to forgive you?

Leave a Reply

