Just.

You could have loved me better
Or you could have loved me more
But you chose to love me, just.

Something between the devils of your restless soul,
And the deep blue tempest sea of your rainbow heart;
Something between the grey of the salient sky
Between the symphonic glow of twilight and the deep stark of night
You loved me, just.

In all of my turbulence and too-muchness
In my imperfection and un-enoughness
Just is how you loved me,
And it is how I remember you–
Something between here, and somewhere there;
Like you never left, like you were never here.

**

A poem for the midnight; for the ones we miss.

___

© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

13 thoughts on “Just.

Leave a Reply

