Ballad.

Here’s a collaboration between myself and Marvin. We thought “Ballad” sounded like a lovely title. Never mind that we are not profound poets, and we do not know the rules of poetry– or a ballad for that matter. Truth be told, we don’t care. Call us #rulebreakers. That said, here goes–

**

She said:
I should have smiled more when he called me “chum”
I should have laughed louder each time he sang me a song
I should have checked better, to see how he fared
I should have apologised more often, for the said and unsaid
I should have tried better, been more understanding and loving
I should have thanked him everyday, for loving me as he did
I should have done more, said some.
Before he left,
Him: the answer, the quest.

**

He said:
I should have cherished the silence better
I should have looked deeper into her twinkling eyes
I should have listened louder to the echoes of her beating heart
I should have seen the signs, the un-made gestures
I should have told her how serene she always looked,
Especially on those days when she wore her salient smile for me
I should have done more, said some.
Before she left,
She: the butterfly, the bee.

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

10 thoughts on “Ballad.

  1. Nice. I enjoyed this one. My advice, is that you two love-birds should just continue being you. Maybe the relationship isn’t meant to be. I even noticed that there was no understand between you two. Agreed?

    Me, Marvin, nice collabo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Sal. No understanding? Well, I more aptly like to see it both parties realising that they made significant contributions to their separation. I think it is an evidence of the beautiful love they once shared; as they did not try to apportion blames, rather, they saw their own faults, perhaps too clearly, too late. But they saw it as “I was wrong”, rather than “he/she hurt me”.

      Thanks again Sal. ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Ridwan! And your story? Despite having missed hearing from you, I’ll say it’s deserving of an even more profound piece. 🙂 ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

