Never Again.

Tony Michele and I finally got down to our long awaited collaboration, and boy, how ‘m so glad about it. Here’s cheers to you Tony, and many more of this to come. Hopefully. ❀

never again

Me
The sky, burst with
a haze of white full
giant clouds;
They splattered, and smeared
around– teasing the sun
With their bashful strides.
The sun.
It took no notice
But they turned and swirled,
Undaunted.
Inspired.
How they touched my heart
Oh, how they reminded me
Of a time
When all I lived for
Was to be kissed by your eyes.
But not anymore.

*

Tony
Kisses to live for
Kisses to die by
That’s what they were,
But not anymore.
Swaying and twirling;
Seeking your attention
Oh, by how much did I miss it?
I imagine I am earth and you the sun
Twists and turns later,
Still perpetually in the line of sight–
Yet, I missed it.
Thinking I was participating in the dance of could-be lovers,
When really I was the only one ready to tango
Longing to be kissed by your eyes;
When I should have savoured being kissed by your light
I missed it
But never again.

**

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

7 thoughts on “Never Again.

  1. These lines….they sizzle and the attendant imageries are by Jove pretty enriching! I mean, ‘Kissed by your eyes’ huh?! Kinda like the words of Judy Garland….’For it was not into my ear you whispered, but into my heart. It was not my lips you kissed; but my soul’! πŸ˜‡πŸ˜„ My heart simply just melted and my head….it was left spinning! ❀😁

    You both pulled this off real effortlessly, needless to say you make beautiful poetry together! Way to go guys, this is a clear win! πŸ˜ŽπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Heheh! Thank you sweet ma’am. There’s something about the sky these days, it speaks to my heart… and working with Tony made everything even more perfect.

      Glad you liked it! Really glad πŸ˜πŸ˜˜πŸ˜™πŸ˜—.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

