Licence to Love.

Where was I
At the beck of dawn
When you sought warmth
From the lone glow
Of the golden bulb that
Hung upon you from the ceiling
Like a saviour.

Where? Where was i?
When the blue icy pelts
Of the early Spring rain
Poured their unspent rage
On you, without shame
For they couldn’t keep strong
Anymore?

You ask. The world asks
“Where the hell was I”,
They want to know. Now,
They want to know.
When you’re a little too lost,
And i’m a little too gone.
Now is a little too late,
Not soon enough, but their
Voices jade away in echoes
Like thunder strumming
The night sky with its roar.

I was there, in every corner
And space– with you;
waiting to be looked upon,
waiting to be called.
I was there, waiting to
be wanted. Waiting to
Be needed for love.
All you had to do was see me
But you were not looking.
All you had to do was reach out
And give me a license to love you
Like I could.
I was there, waiting.
Where were you?

**

Inspired by James Morrison’s Right By Your Side.

**

Ā© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

2 thoughts on “Licence to Love.

  1. Do I really need a licence to love someone?
    I will love come what may
    With or without a permission
    Because for me, to me, Love happens when it happens
    And I embrace it always, anyways.

    Keep the fire burning Sunshine šŸ‘šŸ‘šŸ’–ā¤šŸ’“

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would think that sometimes we do. Love happens when it happens, ‘m all for that. No stopping the jam-jam-jam in our hearts when the butterflies flutter in the pits of our bellies; but it’s one thing to feel love, and another thing to show it. Maybe it’s me, or maybe it’s the muses, but sometimes we learn to stow our love away when it appears it is not needed or not appreciated or not acknowledged. Something about self-respect? And knowing when love’s no longer being served? I don’t know. Hehe. #justsaying

      Thank you Amity.šŸ’œšŸ˜—šŸ˜ššŸ˜™

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

