Keep-ing.

Still on “Keep-ing”, here’s a collaboration between me and Marvin. I’ll warn that It bears some semblance to my previous post, in fact Su’s comment brought it on; but I thought i’ll share anyway.

Me
In a world where nothing lasts
I’ll keep you, even if
a while
It’s a promise
I’ll keep you like a promise
In this heart, that’s been broken
‘least twice
I’ll keep you in every place,
I’ll keep you, if you stay.

*

Marvin
Even now,
I don’t get “forevers”
Where does it start,
And stop?
And maybe it will take too long
Or what if it’s too short?
Take me, and keep me
For as long as you need
‘m staying
For as long as you keep me.

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

15 thoughts on “Keep-ing.

  1. Forever and a day
    I’m yours if you’d have me
    Forever and a day
    Let’s take this one day at a time
    Forever and a day
    Who cares where it starts and/or stops
    Forever and a day
    I’m yours and that’s all that matters.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Forty-four words, eight lines
      One promise, ‘n ‘m done
      You’re mine, if i’ll have you
      I’ll be yours, if you let me
      Take my hand,
      Walk with me
      Let’s mark time with our memories
      And we’ll daze the stars when we kiss
      It may be short
      We might be wrong
      But this love, our love
      I’ll keep it strong
      I don’t fight, I can’t fight
      But i’ll be keeping you
      for as long as you last.

      **

      Tony Tony! We must do that Collabo soon o– odikwa very soon! ‘m ready (if and) when you are Chale!

      Thanks for dropping ’em lines! And thank you for tempting me to write more lines! ❤ ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm, did I miss the invite to the ‘Woo me’ through the commentary box post? Wahooo! I LOVE the comments! Oh, sorry, meant to say I enjoyed the poems 🙂
    Marvin beat you sha! 🙂

    Similar but the infusion of the two brought greater beauty. Many times love viewed through lenses that radiate it’s beauty is best seen and enjoyed than when one soul tries to show its light.

    Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. 😂 Su’, iss nur me o, iss “autocorret”, the “before before” comment was too long, so it broke the thing into series. Season 2 is coming. Bear with us oo. Dalu 😂!

        Like

  3. ‘Love’s not singular, except in syllable’- Marvin Taylor!
    This emotionally-charged collaboration brings the letterings of the above quote alive! Plus, what I especially love ’bout these hearts is gotta be that both are in sync…beating as one; so much so that I can neither tell nor tear ’em apart….literally! 😁
    And, its so true too as Plato says it, that ‘Every heart sings a song, incomplete until another heart whispers back. Those who wish to sing always find a song and at the touch of a lover, everyone becomes a Poet’! Oh la! 😁

    The lines…’I’ll keep you if you’ll stay’ and ‘m staying as long as you keep me’ pretty much seals the deal for me; afterall, it does take two to tango and moreover, two can only walk, if they’re in agreement init?! 😊😄 Uzodinma Okpechi, a top notch New Nollywood Film-maker lied not when he wrote that ‘Love, is a two-letter word….US’, and this right here’s the whole idea of ‘Keep-ing’, for me! For you to wanna keep me, I must wanna be kept! 😃

    Way to go guys, love just assumed a human form in ‘Keep-ing’! ❤😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ‘m just here, enthralled by the joy that fills my heart when you read me, because you always re-sound my thoughts and emotions, and make me feel understood, known. Thank you so much ma’am, for the light you bring with you every time you come around!

      And typo ke? Me I did not even see or notice it– I mean, the depth of the words flowed, touched, and inspired me in syllables and paragraphs. I promise. Haha.

      My major take home is: “love is a two-letter word… US”, that’s the most epic simple thing I ever read about love.

      You ma’am rock to infinity! ❤ 😍😘😙😗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

