Girl Talk: Some Days.

On some days
I don’t feel beautiful
The lipstick don’t fit
And the powder won’t too
And i’ll take a dozen selfies
And make a few many poses
And think about you
And all the nice things you once said
But it just don’t feel
I just don’t feel
Beautiful.

**

One day, a friend asked me “do you feel beautiful”, it didn’t take so long for me to reply– because I had been down that lane several times in my life. So I said “yeah, sometimes!” Then he went on, “And other times?”, and I replied “other times, I just don’t feel” — which is true. On those other days, I look at myself in the mirror and I just don’t quite see. I wear up to a dozen clothes and end up changing my mind on that “outing”, because it just don’t feel. And then I wonder– Is it just me? But that is not the case…

On another random day, another friend told me– out the blues “you are beautiful.” I blushed in my usual shy black way, and told him thanks. Then he went further and said “If at any point in your life, you ever have a doubt– just remember that me, who has nothing to gain by telling you this, says you are beautiful”… and that, that totally did me in. But again, that is not the case…

We are beautiful. I know I have written this time and time again– directly or indirectly– but I don’t think the emphasis is ever enough. On some days, your eyes will not see, and your heart will not feel, but just know you are beautiful. It is not in the colour, or the shape, or the texture, or the grace, or the make-up and make-down, or what he says or what they say– you are beautiful, in ways even you cannot begin to understand. And that is only half the truth.

Darling, you are beautiful. And if you ever have a doubt, remember that I, who has nothing to gain, and doesn’t even know you by name, once said “you are beautiful”, because I know it.

___

And for Music Lovers, Mehgan Trainor says “every inch of you is perfect.” 😉😘

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

13 thoughts on “Girl Talk: Some Days.

    • Haha! Dr Swag read my “girl talk 🙈!” lool!

      Thank you Dr. We are bringing it on as it comes… God bless you for reading and always encouraging. I appreciate you Gaan ni! Eziokwu! 😀 ❤

      Like

  1. Whoa! Although, it has been a long while since I’d pay the MINISCULE DIARY a visit. I can still recall the fine writings made done by ME, beautifully made with all touch of femininity.And here is another one, better by the next one, as usual.

    xoxo 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

