Saudade.

We don’t talk anymore

but i’m fine

,

I see clearly now

what I didn’t see before

I hoped too much

and did little

it was me, not you

but i’m fine

,

I don’t think about it

everything- nothing

it’s a distant forgotten memory

when ‘m not eating,

or breathing, or dancing,

or listening to music–

like Sade’s your love is King,

or sweetest taboo;

I have a lot of me-time now

where all I do is

try to forget about you

it never quite works

but i’m fine

,

I still smile like I do

my laugh is still contagious

maybe a little too loud-er

maybe my eyes miss their shine

but i’m fine

,

We don’t talk anymore

walls have ears,

and they’ve heard the rumour-

me, you, we’re done

this silence mocks

the memories haunt

but before you ever happened

there was me

and now that you’re gone

i’m still standing,

solemnly, a-lonely.

But i’m fine.

**

Ā© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

8 thoughts on “Saudade.

    1. Yayy Ohmston! ‘m beyond elated to have you comment on my page šŸ˜.

      Saudade originates from Brazilian and Portugese parlance; meaning a feeling of loss and longing for something or someone that once was…

      Like

  1. Hmmm….’Saudade’….the cheap, sleazy lies we’ve come to sell ourselves on and ACTUALLY DO believe too, whenever love goes wrong! šŸ˜©’ The most confused we ever get, is when we try to convince our heads of something our hearts know is a lie’- Karen Moning! Now, how’s that for a ‘Coping Mechanism’ to get through each day huh?! šŸ™‰ The absolute horror! šŸ˜‚

    Dare I say, but having to go on without this one will take a lotta getting used to but you’ll live and be mighty fine for it too……you’ve just gotta! šŸ˜‡ā¤

    Sherwood Anderson solemnly affirms that ‘It may be that life’s only worthwhile at moments, perhaps that’s all we oughta expect’! Getting a move on from things and adapting to the change in status quo is not always easy, but certainly not impossible too! Memories last a lifetime and time does make our hurts and pains a lot more bearable! Eventually, things would look up and we’d be the better for it and BE fine, for reals! šŸ˜

    That title’s ‘attention-grabbing’… exotic-sounding too! And those lines….totally had me going!šŸ‘‰ Coolness!šŸ˜ŽšŸ˜„

    Like

  2. It’s sad to give up on something we’ve cast our hearts and mind to for a long time. It’s like learning to breathe again. But I think that with these things, if we say it enough, we start to believe it. It feels like an easy way out– yet it is the only available route sometimes. And dare I say that more often than not, it works. It does. Something’s got to give abi? Hehe.

    We’ll be fine! In the end.

    Thank you so much ma’am. ā¤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

