We just can’t get enough.

Yesterday, I bought two notepads.

Recently, I have grown a penchant for penning words… well, maybe not so recently. I mean, from as far back as I can remember, I would save pieces of words in scrap books I would forget about just as soon, or of Elizabeth Gilbert’s words on my phone, pictures of things Maya Angelou once said, or Chinua Achebe, or just about anything that touched my heart. Sometimes, it would even be my own words. Things I said on the spur of the moment, without so much fore-thought that people thought sounded quite smart… but recently, I have started to actually pen them down, consciously.

It started when I began to watch the Mary Jane series. I love the way each episode begins with a quote. My favourite one is “Love Stinks”. More, I love the way her bedside post and wall mirrors are riddled with post it notes… I love the feeling that you can just walk into your closet, or bedroom or somewhere personal with your head drowning in fifty shades of that’s life, your heart feeling things you can’t describe– and you just happen upon that word from that someone that succinctly tells on you, to you. And you feel understood. You feel un-alone.

So as I was saying, I got those two notepads; because one might just not do. I titled each one “Florelegium: Of words and seed of thoughts”. I am quite excited about it, and I hope to share more from my Notepad with you, as often as I can; and hopefully, let you into what each one means to me.

Here’s my first:

Jonathan Safrer

I hope it speaks to you, as much as it does me.

**

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

9 thoughts on “We just can’t get enough.

    1. I like that. In deed, and in truth, we are collectors. Thank you brother! Knowing you’re here, constantly, as often as you can keeps me going. Thank you so much for reading, and making sure to drop a thought. I appreciate you. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Lol Tony, my handwriting eh? Oya break my heart and tell me it is not fine… 😦

      Hahah!

      I find some kind of joy in collecting these sagely words in my own writing as well. Awesome feeling!

      Thank you. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

