That man, Su’.

It’s his birthday today. I had had it imprinted on my mind since the first day he told me about it, and it’s never too distant a thought. For this reason, I had been musing sub-consciously about what to do or say and nothing really struck. I kept coming back to the ‘what can you possibly do‘ line. And then, I got to read one of his recent posts about keeping a Gratitude Note. More than the lesson, it was the vivid descriptions of certain small gestures that made huge differences– that opened the floodgates for me, and I found myself here…

Su’eddie Vershima Agema; you are an inspiration to life itself. You make friendship easy, seamless; worries, mere illusions. I remember the day I called you from school, weighed down with this tiny personal problem and when the tears came a-calling, I let them flow– it choked me, and hampered my speech but you didn’t care. You were kind. You listened. Lent a ear. And many other times when I would rant and rant about anything and everything, you listened still. I don’t know where I am going with this piece, but I think all ‘m really trying to say is– your presence is a gift I do not necessarily deserve.

So again, it is your birthday today. Happy birthday Su’eddie. I wish you as much wonder and glee as you bring into people’s lives, joy to last a lifetime, fulfillment in your endeavours, happiness and so much more! May the days smile upon you Su’. There could be more, but words are few… from the depth of my being and the heart of my bottom (sorry, bottom of my heart), I celebrate you through and through.

Su'(1)

**

From Me, and The Holidaying Muses.

____

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2016.

7 thoughts on “That man, Su’.

  1. There are too many things to say about this wonderful person I met just last year December, and not even in person! And after sifting among so many sentences, this one must be pinned to the board;
    ‘You’ve become a role model.’
    GOd bless you Sueddie, happy happy birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Awww! This is such a grand gesture ME, sweetness personified! A pretty worthy and moving tribute for the Man Of The Moment…Su’eddie Vershima Agema! You soo rock ME, way to go gurl! πŸ˜ŽπŸ˜ƒ

    Here’s wishing you a very Happy Birthday Sagely One, have many, many more! May your days be long and may you continue to fluorish and expand on every side! This new season of your shalt be your ‘bestest’ yet and all of your long awaited aspirations, wishes, expectations and dreams will come to full physical manifestation, the instance you blow out the candles on your Birthday Cake! πŸŽ‚πŸ˜ƒ

    So then, this one’s for you Birthday Boy, 🍸; have a drink or two on me! πŸ˜‰πŸ˜ Bottoms up! πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜†

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

