Blank Space.

blank-diary-516349-m

I will be your blank space
Where upon your hands you lay
Thoughts rush,
Impressions on,
Pour right through,
I am enough to contain you
Design on me
As you will please
Fear naught,
For you, i’ll always exist
Without end, or pause, or stop
I’ll be your endless memory.

Shove me in
The pocket of your ripped jeans
While you hang out
With the boys at Liquid
And when you return
Tipsy, return to me
Pick me up with your magic hands
And write about the slut
That doused you in rum
Because you had the guts to say hi.

Bleed on me
Spill on me
Tear or squeeze,
There’ll be more of me
Waiting for your touch,
The moist of your ink
Un-judging, un-blaming–
Simply making home
To the music of your beautiful soul.

**

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2015.

8 thoughts on “Blank Space.

  1. Blank Space ultra-highly defined! The old faithful and loyal friend…the ‘Lab Rat’ and ‘Guinea Pig’ that takes it all in, without protesting; These lines are so well thought out Sparkly! Way to go! πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜„

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! You get me, again. But I think that these days, such loyalty is waning… people have become less trusting, and more, less trustworthy… 😦

      Thanks for dropping a thought ma’am! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Aw! Its always been the case Sparkly, always! You know the how that old saying goes ’bout dogs being a man’s best friend? πŸ˜ˆπŸ˜† Mark Twain asserts this…’If you pick up a starving dog and make him prosperous, he will not bite you. This is the principal difference between a dog and man’! πŸ˜†πŸ˜…
        These days, blank spaces and Google are practically competing with the Mutt and it may be outranked soon, perhaps to the third position! πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
        Good, trusting and loyal friends are hard to come by and if one’s opportuned to find and recognise at least one true friend, then one must endeavor to match up, be same to ’em, and never let ’em go! πŸ˜‡β€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The blank space loves me so much, so purely, without reservation, understands when I’m having writer’s block, forgives me when I’m lazy, waits patiently when I abandon her for other ‘joys’, and always welcomes me with open loving white arms when I come back. Listens and rejoices with me when I narrate exciting experiences, and lovingly sympathises with me when I relate grevious ones. Soaks up my tears, walks with me on my healing journey. The blank space loves me so much, so purely, without reservation. I’m vividly reminded of God’s love.

    I’m not good at poems; this is the closest I can come.

    Thats a really nice one, Me. I’m glad I stumbled on your blog and Kiddishrebel’s too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, BLANK SPACE! It always understands.

      Nice lines there Subman. For a first try, i’ll say it is profundo!

      And oh, thank you very much for all your warm and thought-provoking comments. You’ve really just made my day! Here’s me hoping to see more of you around for the staying.

      Thanks again. πŸ™‚ ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

