Random Musings: I know ‘m not the only one.

So here’s a typical conversation with my mind. I assume that it’s a somewhat free morning, but ‘ve prolly got lectures to tend to later in the day. So ‘ve said my prayers, and ‘ve got a couple things on my mental to- do list.
– eat the remaining rice and stew in the fridge
– check the potatoes if they are still okay
– take the garbage out
– go through your coursenotes
– take your bath
– head out
– take your calculator along
– visit the GP
I check through this list as I fight with my body on which to do first. I think eat! Because I am so famished. So I march into the kitchen, fetch the rice, microwave and head back to the room. It smells so good, I lift a spoon to my mouth when my mind goes:
Mind: dirty thing! Won’t you brush first?

Me: *rolls my eyes* why does she always have to be right! enjoys that one spoon regardless and heads on to brush.

In the bathroom, I am dancing to Bruno Mars’ Count on Me, and mentally arranging my to-do list. I am also battling with this thought at the back of my mind that my ego won’t let me think about. Him. I haven’t heard from him in a while, and a good friend would call to check if everything is alright with him, but not me. And that’s that! Afterwards, I head out to finish breakfast. It’s still so hot, I have to pause between spoonfuls. I busy myself with thoughts from random past events and smile away, enjoying being my own entertainer. My mind joins in too. We are having a good time.

Mind: But bae, you been thinking too much all day.

Me: *smiles* ‘ve got a lot to do! Don’t you see.

Mind: Right! That’s why you’re spending a full half of an hour on that small plate of rice. You know the truth. You’re trying not to think of him.

Me: No.

Mind: Yeah right! Get a life!

Me: *laughs* I have you baby!

Mind: But really girl, you should call him.

Me: Hian, so he starts feeling himsef abi? Abeg, i’ll pass.

Mind: *sigh. What shall I do with you?

Me: Love me baby.

Mind: But you know you love him.

Me: What? Common! ‘ve only known him for what? 10 seconds? Why evuls!

Mind: Okay, but you reallllly like him!

Me: *smiles* Well, he’s fun. She quickly chips in a memory from the previous week of when we had a real fun time, taunting and teasing each other. And ‘m grinning, unconsciously.

Mind: Action speaks louder than voice baby! Yoohoo!

Now, she’s doing a Salsa to Lionel Richie’s Celebration, and I feel like a silly fool. I want to punch her but i’ll hurt myself.

Me: Devil!

She laughs. And somehow, I dissuade mind from thinking about him again and get on with the other things ‘ve got planned for the day…

____

Err, so this is a snapshot of my life on a typical random day… and ‘m here wondering if someone else out there has convos with their minds like this… or if it’s just me feeling quite like Ana in Fifty Shades, who’s got that sexy ass subconscious with her signature half-moon specs. But here’s something, I know ‘m not the only one‘ in Sam Smith’s voice. πŸ˜€

 

PS: Don’t take any of this seriously, except of course the mad rapport between me and my mind. #justsaying πŸ™‚

 

____

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2015.

12 thoughts on “Random Musings: I know ‘m not the only one.

  1. Just call already!
    let him feel good that you called, is that such a bad thing? wanting to make him feel good too?
    I know he is the guy, and he is supposed to be all in control, and all self-assured, but sometimes, making him ‘feel himself’ is good for that his self-esteem.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lool! Choi, my love doctor just had to comean goan read this one na, and start making me feel shades of ‘not nice’… bhet izz nur fair o. Hahah

      Well doc… I do agree with you. Sometimes, the lady has to chunk all that ego plus thoughts down her throat, and do the reaching out once in a while. What’s to lose?

      Thanks doc! πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh my! So i’m not the only one 😊🎀🎧🎼🎡🎢

    I truly enjoyed reading this.
    Nice one sunshine 😊

    I never knew you wrote something like this😳 too
    (Neverland spirit at work)

    I love your mind thoughπŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

