Will you listen?

cropped-img_20141222_092122_edit2.jpg

I see you watch me
With that look in your eyes
And that certainty, that spark
That says you know me like a right guess

You see me, watch you
And all you see is a mould
The one you cast in your minds eye
And bid me to fit into like a right size

I am beyond that
Beyond your guesses and gut feelings
I am way beyond that
More than your mind could ever reason

I am the strong, the weak
The boldness you seek
The shyness of a virgin girl
When suitors cast her lustful stares

I am a child
Young, free and wild
But I am old enough
To know what life is and not

I can’t fit
The way you want me to
I can’t stay
I don’t know how to

Let’s do crazy,
I am mercurial baby
Don’t
Don’t ask
Don’t ask me
Don’t ask me to
Don’t ask me to be
Don’t ask me to be anything

I can only be me
Maybe
Maybe try
To watch me unfold
I am a wealth of stories
No one ever told
Will you listen?

**

Β© The Short Black Girl, 2015.

18 thoughts on “Will you listen?

    1. Haha! I’ll sure love to see that *painting* when you’re done. I know you’re attentive, so I’ll be safe to expect nothing short of perfection.

      Good to have you drop by. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hehehe mr painter
      Paint her stories in bright colours
      Let em run down the canvas
      Paint em in different voices
      That will make the nightingale jealous
      Paint it slowly then swiftly
      Paint paint paint

      Liked by 3 people

  1. Long…

    Easy read though. Nice one. The last two stanzas ate my favourite. Nice.

    From:”Miniscule Diary” Date:Thu, 27 Aug, 2015 at 7:42 Subject:[New post] Will you listen?

    me posted: ” I see you watch me With that look in your eyes And that certainty, that spark That says you know me like a right guess You see me, watch you And all you see is a mould The one you cast in your minds eye And bid me to fit into like a right size “

    Like

    1. Ah well, I didn’t have so much time to make it short. πŸ˜€

      Thanks Su’. Glad you found something in the long bit that tickled your fancy. πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

