Retrospection.

only truth

I would speak it with tears,
Look you straight in the eye,
With eyes swollen with feelings,
Maybe then it’ll be clear…

I would write it with blood,
Cut myself open everywhere,
Release these bottled up emotions,
And watch it trickle, till it pours…

I would break my chest open,
Offering my heart in its tangled clot,
Hoping that despite its sticky feel,
You’ll see it once beat for you…

I would steal the moon,
And gather the brightest stars,
I would kiss the sun,
And wrap myself in rain’s ice,
If it will show that once you were my only truth.

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2015.

14 thoughts on “Retrospection.

Leave a Reply

