Goodbye

PIC

You were wrong,
You fell first,

That’s not true,
It was you who nudged me forth,

I didn’t,
I tried to hide from you,

Well, maybe you did,
But I always found you

There were rules,
Patterns and routes,

Love knows no rule,
Safe for honesty and truth,

We are here now,
Stranded, helpless, hurt,

Shattered too,
But it’s you I still want,

Don’t be a fool,
Please don’t want me like this,

Nothing feels better,
How else would you have it be?

It’s wrong,
But I love you,

I know,
And I love you too,

Let’s do it right,
Let’s say goodbye,

I wish I could,
But loving you is nice,

I’ll carry you in my heart,
I won’t forget you,

I am you personified,
There’s the saddest truth,

I’ll write about you,
I’ll keep the memories alive,

I’ll talk about you too,
So forever our memories will thrive.

Goodbye now,
Don’t look back.

Just one thing now,
I’ll be here when you turn around.

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2015.

8 thoughts on “Goodbye

Leave a Reply

