For the love of loving you.

Once,
Now a very long time,
I used to think of you,
As the biggest part of my life,

Upon
My heart, your thoughts I laid,
Your happiness, my gain,
Your worries, my pain..

I was faithful to the letter,
loyal as a fool,
I was certain I had found love,
Guess I was young and confused..

They said it was madness,
That which I was feeling,
But then I would smile with a smirk
Could I have been any more stupid?

And
Sisters yelled and yelped
‘I was once like you’,
But even those words did little to help,

So I went headlong into it,
Lost all sense of reason,
Paid no mind to nothing else,
So that only you consumed my being..

And it took your leaving,
All of my goodwill,
Innocence and youth,
To realise how drenched and exhausted loving you had made me..

You didn’t deserve it,
Not my hello or goodbye,
But I gave it to you anyway,
And somehow, that makes me feel fine..

Once,
Now a very long time,
I used to think of you,
As the biggest part of my life..

And though you turned out a brute,
For me, nothing has changed,
I loved you then,
And even tomorrow, I’ll love you again..

**

© The Short Black Girl, 2014.

4 thoughts on “For the love of loving you.

    1. Right? Sometimes you can’t take the pain away from love. Some would rather love love with all its contours, than be without it for a second.

      Thank you Sheedart. We try! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

