December Note: Reflections, THE MEN.

Hm. So it’s that time of the year again where we sum up the summables, and draw up our books. ‘M sure we’ve all had a fair share of the varying shades of life in these 365 days, and ‘m particularly grateful because despite the overwhelming times, there were moments when I laughed till my belly ached; times when I felt so loved and in love; times when it didn’t matter what I was going through because there were people that made me see the light in every one tunnel and it’s because of these people that ‘ve decided to make a December note.

I met a lot of new faces during this year, made some new friends and relations, kept on with a lot of old acquaintances, and strengthened some fickle lines along the way. But despite the sea of memories and people, some stand out distinctly.

Today, I write about four men that made my 2014 wholesome the most they could.

1. Su’eddie Vershima Agema (The god- brother): I met Su’ on NaijaStories some years back and ever since, he’s been a shelter for the rainy days, offered a shoulder to rest my fragile frame, a diary for my worrisome thoughts, and a friend in need and in deed. He might not know how much he’s done by being a part of my life all this time, but then again, he just might be aware of how awesome he is because sometimes he never fails to flaunt that awesomeness in my face. Su’eddie Vershima Agema, I know ‘m all grown now, and you’re quite the grandpa yourself, here’s just appreciating you for every second of the day that you’ve made my happiness and safety your concern; and wishing that Aondo does the very best for you for that’s just what you deserve. Words fail me on the best things to say to you, but I am certain Aondo understands even my unspoken sentiments. God bless you brother!

2. Ayokunle Ogundare: I call him my brother on some days, and my boo on others. He has been a very supportive and wonderful friend all this time, and his belief in me even at times when I doubt myself has been overwhelming. We don’t see too often, but when we talk I feel the sincerity in every word; and how much he’ll do to help me be my best is beyond words… And for this, I appreciate you Ayokunle Ogundare and I wish the very best for you today, tomorrow and always. God bless you padi!

3. Adeyinka Adewuyi: Ah. My chicken, fish, crayfish and everything in between. There’s so much to tell about him. He would be that extra spice that God gifted me with in 2014, for all the laughter he brought into my life with his mere existence. Adeyinka Adewuyi, thanks for keeping in touch and staying in touch, thanks for putting up with my constant mood swings and hanging around for that moment when I become sweet again. Thanks for being so cool, fun and lovable, and thanks for all the inspirations you gave me when Marvin was still very much around. God bless you dear! You are awesome.

4. Jibola Bakare: Hm. This one friend I don’t know how to place really, but he inspired some of my best works in 2014. Ego, January Flash story, The fall, and a whole lot of others. He’s an exquisite artist, and some crazy guy. Jibola Bakare, thanks for the times you made my day, and most importantly, inspiring me on days when I was short of inspiration with your art, words and being. God bless you real good.


Of course, there’s a whole lot more I want to write and rant about; so many more people I want to recognise, but I guess I’ll do this in bits.

To everyone that made my 2014, I say thank you, and you mean so much to me.
**

© The Short Black Girl, 2014.

2 thoughts on “December Note: Reflections, THE MEN.

  1. Oh! My Chicken!

    You don’t want me to go on about you in this tiny little box, no?

    You know exactly where you are placed and how much you madel 2014 an awesome year for me too.

    Thank you for regarding me with these sweet words. They made me feel some sparks.

    God bless you.

    Now, I have to go on to read all of those other stories you didn’t share with me somehow :D.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

